Why I think Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is the best book

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban the book. [Photo Credit: Harry Potter Shop]

Everyone has that one favorite book that once it touches their hands, they can’t put it down. For me, that book is Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I will tell you why: Remus Lupin’s story.

For those of you who haven’t read the book and just watched the movie, your mind is about to be blown.

In the movie, now I’m still a little bit angry about this, they sort of just brush over the story of Shrieking Shack and the Whomping Willow. ACTUALLY, they don’t even tell the true story of it which makes me even more mad. Anyways, the Shrieking Shack and Whomping Willow are actually very vital parts in the book.

*SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVEN’T READ HARRY POTTER AND THE PRISONER OF AZKABAN*

Remus Lupin is a werewolf, as all of you know, and he was bitten when he was a student at Hogwarts. He was fairly new to transforming into a werewolf and obviously it’s painful, your body is transforming from human into half-human, half-wolf, obviously that’s going to hurt. Lupin used one of the secret passageways to the Shrieking Shack as an escape route to go for the nights of his transformations while the Whomping Willow covered the entrance of the passageway to block anyone from entering. Because the transformations into a werewolf was so painful, Lupin would scream A LOT, understandable right? Well, long story short, villagers who would walk by the Shrieking Shack thought that the building was haunted because it was supposed to be abandoned but there were noises coming from it and Dumbledore being the kind, gentle soul that he is highly encouraged that rumor throughout the years.

For those of you who haven’t read the book, I’ll just let that sink in…

David Thewlis aka Remus Lupin on left, him as a werewolf on right in Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. [Photo Credit: Pinterest]

Although I love the movies so much, and you can see which ones I love the most here, and maybe I’m just way too obsessed with Harry Potter (which it’s totally okay to be) , but what makes me a little bit angry is that the movie never mentions anything about Lupins backstory. If you don’t read the book, you wouldn’t know that the Shrieking Shack isn’t actually haunted, that Lupin actually occupied it for his transformations. To me, it’s such an interesting part of the story AND it’s such a big twist right?! I remember reading when Lupin was telling this story and I couldn’t take my eyes off the book. There are also multiple twists in this book that are amazing that if you haven’t read it, I’m not going to spoil it for you like I just spoil Lupin’s story so you’ll just have to read it! And just, the whole story with Sirius Black and Peter Pettigrew is so fascinating but even the people who watched the movies know about it so I don’t have to go that into that story!

The whole book is a magical masterpiece so bravo J.K. Rowling. *Side note: And if you love Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban as much as I do, the illustrated edition is coming out in October so be ready for that!

Sometimes the whole book can leave you in awe or it’s one little turning point, plot twist, background story, etc. that can make your opinion about the book change. That’s what Lupin’s story did for me and maybe it did for you too.

Below is the scene in the movie where they completely cut out Lupin’s background story.


Scene continued.

2 thoughts on “Why I think Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is the best book

  1. I agree with regard to Lupin in POA. I feel like his character and backstory isn’t developed very well in the films. I would also be interested to hear your thoughts on Sirius Black’s underdevelopment (my humble opinion) in the films.

    Like

    1. In my opinion, I felt like they left a lot of Harry and Sirius’s relationship out of the movie. I don’t know if you’ve read my other posts but I’ve stated that I’ve seen the movies before the books (I know, stupid) and I was a little taken back by the instant connection Harry had with Sirius. I understood that he was his godfather and he was good friends with his dad but I was still taken back. Once I read the books, I realized they left out SO much of their conversations and how much Sirius meant to him and vice versa. Watching, for example GOF, Sirius was barely in it.. and it’s just another example of, although I love the movies so much, how much they leave out that is so significant to the storylines.

      Like

Leave a Reply

