Ranking the Harry Potter Movies From Least to Greatest: All Out Of Love

Harry Potter has become one of, if not the biggest movie/book series in the world. It has become somewhat of an obsession to kids, teenagers, and even adults all over. There’s something about it, the way it fills your mind with imagination, has incredible plots and twists, deals with situations that are dealt with everyday in the real world (minus the magic), etc. It started from a book and ended with a movie. This blog post is the ranking of movies in order from least to greatest, although let’s be real, every movie is amazing in it’s own way. Now, since this is only about the movies, the things that are discussed in the books, I will not be talking about but have no fear because I will be ranking the books in due time don’t you worry! A little side note before we dive in, I love every movie of Harry Potter so although I may say one movie is the least, it does not mean it is bad, it just means I love other ones more! I’m sure many of you can relate to that. Alright, let’s begin!

The opening title of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.
The opening title for Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.
8.)Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
It was hard to decide which movie to put last but I’ve put my feelings aside and have picked Order of the Phoenix. I picked this movie for #8 because it’s a very slow paced movie and it leaves a lot out of from the book. Now, I will say that I might hate Dolores Umbridge more than Voldemort. “I must not tell lies” well if I’m telling the truth, Dolores, you’re a huge bitch… But other than the storyline with her, it’s a very slow movie. If they added more from the books, maaaybe I would put this higher up on my list because the book is great (but we’ll get to that later) but the movie itself is slow. It’s confusing at times if you haven’t read the books and really the only exciting part is the ending when Sirius dies… I mean, not that that’s exciting, it’s super sad but that whole scene is really when it gets big. One thing I also like is that we get to see Bellatrix Lestrange in person and she is every bit of crazy as she is in the book. But like I said in the beginning, I love all of these movies, including this movie I just wish they would’ve put more from the book, it would’ve made it much more understandable! Great movie though.

The opening title for Harry Potter and the Philosopher's (Sorcerer's) Stone.
The opening title for Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s (Sorcerer’s) Stone.
7.)Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
Sorcerer’s Stone might of been harder to put at the end of the list than Order of the Phoenix… IT’S OUR FIRST MOVIE! It’s the first time we hear “Yer a wizard, Harry.” We get to see all the magic of the book come to life for the first time. All the characters and the creatures and it is amazing and it reminds me of the joy I had when I watched it when I was a kid! But other than that, there isn’t much anticipation. I love the movie anyways but there is very little action or twists or anything in it. Maybe it’s because I’ve watched it a gazillion times, but the movies after just got so much better after this one. But I will always love this movie because it reminds me of the excitement of watching it for the first time. So although it’s #7 in this list, it’s timeless!

The opening title of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.
The opening title for Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.
6.)Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Chamber of Secrets definitely has a little bit more action and mystery to it than Sorcerer’s Stone but it’s still not as intense as the other movies hens why it’s only #6. It also reminds me of the excitement I had when I was a child and going to the theaters to see it. We also get to see Dobby which he is one of my favorite characters and we get a little bit more in depth on Lord Voldemort and him trying to come back to life. I remember when I was younger and I saw Harry slaying the Basilisk, I thought it was the grossest and scariest thing I’ve ever seen in my life so it definitely has the action! There’s also the twist of Lucius Malfoy being the one to give Ginny the diary which causes the whole opening of the Chamber of Secrets so a lot is going on in the movie and I really enjoy it but same as the other movies on this list, the later movies just have so much more going on that I think make them better!

The opening title to Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1.
The opening title for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1.
5.)Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1
I love the Deathly Hallows Part 1, as I do every other movie, but it definitely is a little slow in the middle of it. A good part of it is just us seeing Harry, Ron, and Hermione traveling and it kind of drags on. I think a part that the movie lacks to put more emphasis on is when Hermione obliviates her parents memories because she’s going on this journey and doesn’t know if she’ll come back and wants to protect them. The scene is SO quick and it kind of irks me because THAT’S SO IMPORTANT. She literally takes away all the memory her parents have of her, that must be so hard for her but they barely reflect on it. I think that’s one small reason why this movie is so low on my list, it makes me mad! The ending is really when it gets exciting and picks up speed but it’s also when pretty much the whole Harry Potter fandoms hearts break in half because of Dobby’s death. I think it was a great decision of putting his death in this part instead of part 2 because we see Dobby in the beginning of the movie and it would pointless to have him die let’s say in the beginning of part 2. I do love this movie it’s just a little slow but does have many great scenes!

The opening title of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.
The opening title for Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.
4.)Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. This is the movie where we finally get to see inside of Voldemort! SO GOOD. I also love that we get to have Draco as a more key character than he is. Usually he’s just that annoying kid that you would like to kick in the balls but this movie he actually gets a very important role and we get to see which side he actually is on, the good or the bad. ALSO THE TWIST AT THE END?! Spoilers if you haven’t seen the movie but when Snape kills Dumbledore… holy shit my heart sank. That might have been one of the biggest plot twists I’ve witnessed in all of my 13 years of living (cause I was a little teen when it came out). I was also intrigued by the more high school feel this movie had. The crushing of Lavender Brown on Ron, Hermione being heart broken, the jealousy coming out of Lavender when Ron “chooses” Hermione in his sleep, Cormac McLaggen trying to get with Hermione, it’s just a whole mesh of high school drama, it’s great! I was secretly hoping for Hermione to be with Cormac just in this movie because Freddie Stroma who played him is a BABE. But anyways, I thoroughly enjoy watching this movie whether it’s the high school drama, the Draco development, the Voldemort flashbacks, or Dumbledore’s death, it’s a great movie.

The opening title of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.
The opening title for Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.
3.)Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
I absolutely love Prisoner of Azkaban! Pretty much the whole storyline is one big plot twist. The whole time we assume that Sirius Black is going after Harry Potter because I mean that’s what it would seem… One of the first things we see is a big giant black dog growling at Harry in the middle of the street at night looking like he’s going to eat his head off. Later we find out that the Grim is after Harry which is a black dog… HMMMMM. Sirius escaping Azkaban, the Grim after Harry, it would make the most sense that Sirius is after Harry. But shit gets real when Harry tells Lupin that Peter Pettigrew was on the Marauders Map when he’s supposed to be dead. We finally get to see the dog from the beginning of the movie pull Ron into the Shrieking Shack and at the point we still don’t know that Sirius is Animagus BUT HE IS so when I saw Sirius there I was like HOLY SHIT HE’S ANIMAGUS. But then the whole situation with Peter being Ron’s rat happens and Harry stupefies Snape and Sirius ends up being good and Peter ends up being the one who betrayed Lily and James and it’s such a great movie! Now I don’t know if the actor who played Peter Pettigrew actually looks like that but they did an absolutely GREAT job at making him look like someone who’s been a rat for 12 years… It’s kind of gross to look at. We get a glimpse of time travel and see Buckbeak’s life be saved which is always great when an animal’s life is saved, even if it’s a magical creature! I also have to make a reference to the fact that this was the first movie with Michael Gambon as Dumbledore and I will say, as much as I loved Richard Harris in the first two movies, Gambon gave it a more modern tone and I really dug it. Oh my god and how could I forget the best part… HERMIONE PUNCHES DRACO! You go girl!

Plot twist scene with Sirius Black part 1


Plot twist scene with Sirius Black part 2

The opening title for Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.
The opening title of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.
2.)Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
It was either Prisoner of Azkaban or this one for #2 and I had to pick Goblet of Fire as my second favorite. If I didn’t know any better, I would’ve thought this was the Olympics but with magic… SO MUCH IS GOING ON IN THIS MOVIE. It does leave a lot out of the book but makes up with the production and scenes and acting and everything! We get to see what an actual Quidditch World Cup would look like… and what tailgating looks like in the magical world. Pretty much relatable to the real world but a lot of spells flashing around. What was so cool in this movie was seeing the Tri-Wizard Tournament on screen. Seeing the dragons, the merpeople, grindylows, it was cool to read about it and then see them actually put on screen. Also, let’s just appreciate Ron’s dress robes at the Yule Ball… It was all poop brown and ruffled but magnificent! Ron, I don’t care what anyone said, you rocked it! Except when you were all grouchy because Hermione was dancing with Krum… Hello, you could’ve asked her to the ball, stop being so butt hurt. Anyways, this movie is special because it’s the first one where we really get to see the movie version of Voldemort. We saw a little glimpse of him in Sorcerer’s Stone but he was on the back of someone’s head so we don’t count that. It was so weird seeing him in person after hearing about him after all of this time (pun intended). He was as intimidating and creepy as I would’ve thought he was. The twist, also, with Mad-Eye Moody actually not being Moody but being Barty Crouch Jr. under a polyjuice potion and him killing his own dad… Super weird. But am I the only on who thought once Barty Crouch met Moody after the 2nd challenge, once we had already seen the Pensieve memory of Crouch Jr. being “arrested” and him licking his lips, that when Moody licked his lips as well, it was kind of a spoiler that it was him? Maybe I’m just a genius, I don’t know. And the icing on the cake of this movie, the scene with Cedric Diggory dying. HOLY CRAP DO I CRY EVERYTIME. It’s so sad the way his dad breaks down. That is the reaction I picture any parent reacting if they ever saw their child dead. It’s heartbreaking and the movie did a great job of portraying that moment and pulling at all of our emotions. And to end on a lighter note, how can we forget the book/movie controversy “DID YOU PUT YOUR NAME IN THE GOBLET OF FIYAH?!?!?” Everybody who read the book knows that Dumbledore should’ve said that very calmly but obviously he went batshit crazy on Harry.

The opening title for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2.
The opening title of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2.
1.)Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2
Deathly Hallows Part 2 has to be everyone’s all time favorite movie, doesn’t it? Okay maybe not because I can definitely see how any one of these movies could be anyone’s favorite but this movie has everything in it that just pulls me in every time. We’ll start off with the saddest part, the deaths. Holy poop are there a lot of deaths in this movie. Although, the movie doesn’t really explain them in depth, the way they capture them is very powerful, in my opinion. Fred’s scene is probably the saddest, obviously? All of the Weasleys are there bawling their eyes out while Fred is just on the floor, breathless. George is probably the most heartbroken in the scene as he hugs Ron right away and is crying most noticeably. It’s all just hard to see because you don’t expect anything to happen to them, they’re the Weasleys! Lupin and Tonks death hit me hard because they literally just grace over them for like two seconds. I barely have enough time to process that they’re dead when they’re already off their bodies. It’s so sad!! Lavender Brown’s death got to me too because it’s just sad to see her lying on the ground, dead. Yeah she was annoying as all hell in Half-Blood Prince but I wouldn’t wish death on anyone and the way she died, with that dirty, revolting, despicable werewolf’s face in her neck is so sad. Now the shit with Snape was a HUGE part in what made this movie my favorite. It’s the answer to our question “Is he bad or is he good?” We literally have been wondering for years and we finally find out. The entire clip with him and Lily give me chills EVERY TIME I WATCH IT. It’s precious, sad, chilling, everything, all at once. Basically, in that moment, we learn that Snape was a double agent for Dumbledore, madly in love with Lily Potter, and Harry realizes that he is the 7th horcrux that Voldemort never meant to make which meant he had to die in order for Voldemort to be killed. That’s some heavy shit! It’s such a great movie and we finally get to see Hermione and Ron kiss which I mean that’s been building up since “You’ve got dirt on your nose.” I kind of didn’t want Voldemort to die because I knew the movie was going to be done and the series would end and I just don’t think I could take that kind of change! But I’ve handled it.

Snapes memories scene part 1


Snapes memories scene part 2

So there you have it, those are my list of the Harry Potter movies for least to greatest. But every movie is amazing in their own way so was this post even worth writing? Maybe, maybe not, but I did it anyways so enjoy it! Thanks for reading and stay tuned for my next post!

One thought on “Ranking the Harry Potter Movies From Least to Greatest: All Out Of Love

Leave a Reply

