Discussing the Harry Potter Deaths: Get Out the Tissues

Michael Gambon playing Albus Dumbledore in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2.
Michael Gambon playing Albus Dumbledore in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2.

Half of the reason why the Harry Potter fandom is so obsessed with this series is because of the deaths in it and if you’re disagreeing with me, stop lying to yourself. Everybody knows that you have to draw the readers in with a great story, which JK Rowling does, and then you have to have a key death, which JK Rowling definitely does… several times. In all fairness, JK Rowling is so dedicated to her fans that she does apologize on special occasions such as the anniversary of the Battle of Hogwarts which is May 2, 1998 where most of the deaths occur. As much as we hate that she killed all of these beloved characters off, we sincerely appreciate her taking the time to mend our broken hearts every year. Thanks Jo

There have been many deaths in the series, as you all know because you’ve probably used up hundreds of tissues crying over them but I wont talk about all of them. I will acknowledge Remus Lupin, Nymphadora Tonks ,

Robert Pattinson plays Cedric Diggory in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.
Robert Pattinson plays Cedric Diggory in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.

Sirius Black, Lavender Brown, James and Lily Potter (of course), and our favorite owl, Hedwig’s death because I won’t talk much about theirs, as depressing as they all were. I will, however, start off this with talking about the one, the handsome, Cedric Diggory. Although, we only saw him in one movie and heard of him in the Prisoner of Azkaban book briefly, his death still lingers inside my heart. Why? Probably because it was the first death that we really experience, besides Lily and James Potter. Yup, that’s definitely the reason. He was just a loveable boy who wanted to compete in the Tri-Wizard Tournament, not thinking that his life was going to end after completing it. It’s so relatable to life because we see the heart break of a father losing his son. I don’t have kids but even so, I couldn’t imagine losing a kid and even in a magical world full of elves and hippogriffs, JK Rowling shows us the realistic pain of going through the loss of a child.

Michael Gambon playing Albus Dumbledore in Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.
Michael Gambon playing Albus Dumbledore in Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.

The next death that pulls at my heart strings would be the top dog, Albus Dumbledore. I’m not Harry but I feel like Dumbledore was definitely a father figure to Harry in the 6 years that he was Headmaster while Harry was at Hogwarts. Yes, Sirius was his godfather but to me, I believe Sirius was more connected to James than Harry. Not saying he didn’t love him of course but although this only happened in the movie, I think this has a subliminal message. Sirius’s last words to Harry are “Nice one, James!” In the middle of a fight, he’s thinking of James, his best friend. And that’s not a bad thing! I just think that he wasn’t as much as of father figure to Harry than Dumbledore was. He looked out for him pretty much his whole life, from casting that protection spell on the Dursley’s house to saving him multiple times at Hogwarts. Although he did “raise him like a pig for slaughter,” he knew Harry would come out of it on top and that’s what makes him the best and what makes his death one of the saddest. Also, his death scene with the Titanic song “My Heart Will Go On” makes it even more sad because let’s be real, that song makes everything more sad.

Alan Rickman plays Severus Snape in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2.
Alan Rickman plays Severus Snape in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2.

Next up is our Potions/Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher, Severus Snape. This death is a complicated death but to me, it’s quite sad. Some people believe that no matter what his feelings were for Lily, that doesn’t give him the right to be an asswipe to Harry and I totally agree! But let’s just think of a couple things… James was a jerk to Snape first off. Snape was a little outsider in love with a girl he probably would never be with. Come on people, we’ve all liked someone who we’d never end up with. James was that cocky guy who got the girl but yet, still had to be a douche to Snape. I’m sorry but I can’t help but feel for the guy. Also, the girl Snape’s been in love with for a good majority of his life died!! I’d probably be pissed off at anything that stood if the love of my life was taken from me too soon… especially if someone looked LIKE THAT PERSONS SIGNIFICANT OTHER THAT USED TO BULLY ME! Now, I’m not saying that I give him a pass for pretty much bullying Harry, no, but what I am saying is that I understand why he had so much pent up aggression inside of him. He also was a double agent pretty much half of his life to save Harry so you got to give him credit for that. I tend to cry a lot more watching the scene now, also, because Alan Rickman passed away last year and it makes it that much more realistic to me.

Toby Jones, the voice of Dobby the House Elf in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1.
Toby Jones, the voice of Dobby the House Elf in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1.

This next death really gets to me… Everyone’s favorite house elf, Dobby. First off, let’s talk about how adorable he is. His voice is so cute, which is weird because originally he’s played by like a fifty-year-old man so I’m kind of calling a fifty-year-old man’s voice cute but I’m just going to picture Dobby… Yeah… DOBBY’S voice is adorable and the fact that he died being loyal to Harry was the saddest thing. It reminds me of Hedwig’s death. Not to compare Dobby to a pet because he’s not but he’s as loyal as Hedwig was and that is the best compliment I think I can give him. He looked out for Harry all of his years at Hogwarts from warning him not to go to Hogwarts, to giving him the Gillyweed for the Tri-Wizard Tournament (those who read the books will know it was Dobby, not Neville), to dying while saving Harry, Ron, and Hermione. You are a free elf forever, Dobby!

Rupert Grint as Ron Weasley and Julie Walters as Molly Weasley mourn over the death of Fred Weasley played by James Phelps.
Rupert Grint as Ron Weasley and Julie Walters as Molly Weasley mourn over the death of Fred Weasley played by James Phelps.

Fred Weasley’s death is a death that I will forever cry at. The movie does a great way of making it gut-wrenching. When you think of the Weasley’s, you think of a loving, redheaded family (except for that time where stupid Percy literally disowned them for believing that Voldemort was back… WELL LOOK WHO WAS RIGHT PERCY, NOW YOU LOST YOUR BROTHER YOU STUPID LITTLE IDIOT! Sorry, almost lost my cool there… ) The Weasley’s are the family that you wish was yours but you don’t tell your actual family because you don’t want them being like “what, you don’t like your own family?” and then it becomes this whole thing… But they’re the family goals. And Fred and George are twin sibling goals. They’re always together and they’re HILARIOUS. Now, this is where I will take back my angry reaction towards Percy. JK Rowling did a great job of showing the initial reaction of Percy finding Fred dead. I’m not one to cry while reading, I’m more of a visual person, but for some reason this scene will always get to me whether it’s reading it or watching it. Although the book patches up the relationship with Percy and the Weasley’s and the movie doesn’t, the movie at least incorporates Percy in the death scene so it makes it that much more sad and meaningful. Definitely the saddest death, in my opinion. I couldn’t imagine being them, let alone George. He spends every day of his life side by side with Fred and now he needs to learn how to live without him. It’s heartbreaking.

My face when the series ended. Ralph Fiennes playing Lord Voldemort in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2.
My face when the series ended. Ralph Fiennes playing Lord Voldemort in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2.

And lastly, how could I forget… LORD VOLDEMORT. Now, I know what you’re thinking… What kind of psychopath would mourn over the death of the Dark Lord. Well, don’t worry it’s not me. I’m only upset about the death of him because when he died, the series ended. I’m still grieving the loss. Anyways, thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed and stay tuned for my next blog!

One thought on “Discussing the Harry Potter Deaths: Get Out the Tissues

  1. I really like how casually written this post is, it makes it sound personal and makes you laugh at the same time. You spent just enough time all of the deaths in the series that mattered, while acknowledging ones that weren’t as big, which I thought was a smart move, instead of just leaving them out all together. Can’t wait to read more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

